top of page
Search
  • stu-sarfrazr

My tips on drawing anatomy




Introduction to Anatomy

When learning how to draw, anatomy is a real challenge to perfect. During my artistic journey, I have discovered and I am always discovering new ways to help improve my anatomy skills. In this blog, I would like to share a few of these methods that have helped me improved my art.


References

Wanting to learn the proportions of the human body correctly may seem difficult, but having a reference by your side will help significantly. Although you may struggle to understand how to use them in the beginning, there's no need to worry: art is a learning process!


Image references, that can easily be found on google images and sources such as Pinterest is a great starting point for new artists. Studying poses and images of real people will help you understand how proportions fit into place naturally. One way to use an image reference is to trace: yes, trace. Although it seems like a crime in the art community, traces images of real people, real human bodies, is the only way you can perfect anatomy.


When tracing images, be sure not to just trace the outline. Study the shapes you can see, for example: The arm can be broken down into long ovals. The shoulder as a joint can be drawn as a circle. The same can be applied to the other parts of the body. The chest? A rectangle. The face? It can start as a circle. The hand? A lot of different tiny shapes.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page